ClickTime supports a method to assign certain Tasks to specific Projects. This can reduce time entries from being logged to incorrect Tasks as well as to limit the Task options your employees have. Task Availability can be turned on from the Company --> Preferences page as seen below:
Please note that this functionality is available to Corporate and Enterprise Accounts. Read on or use the links below to go the appropriate section of this guide.
No Task Controls
Task by Client/Project
Checking Task Availability
Please note that ClickTime automatically creates 9 Tasks when your account is created. You can inactivate or rename any Tasks that you'd like from the Company --> Tasks page. More details on Creating/Editing Tasks can be found in this guide.
By default, Task Controls will be disabled, meaning all Tasks can be selected for every time entry. Individual users can manage their own options using the My Tasks page to determine which Tasks they can choose when logging hours.
Administrators and Managers with appropriate permissions can inactivate a Task if it should no longer be used to track time. If there are no time entries associated with a Task you can also delete the Task from the system entirely.
Please note that Tasks which are inactive when an employee is added to the system will not be available to them by default, even if the Task is later made active. However they can always manage which active Tasks they have access to from the My Tasks page.
Corporate and Enterprise accounts can choose to restrict Tasks by the Client/Project their employees log time to. This setting can be changed on the Company --> Preferences page:
After changing this setting and Saving, you will now have the option to edit "Task Availability" on either the Project or the Task level. You can go directly to these pages using the "toolbox" icon on the Company --> Projects or Company --> Tasks pages:
or by going to Task Availability page from either the Project Details
or Task Details pages:
While the pages look a little different, the basic functionality is the same.
From the Project Details --> Task Availability page, click "Edit Section":
Next, select the Tasks your employees can use when logging time to that Project, and then click "Update":
To do this on the Task level, either use the "suitcase" icon to go to the Task Availability page, or go to edit the Task Details page and use the Task Availability link at the top.
Next you can then select the Client/Projects this Task can be used for. You have options to show the Task for "All" Projects associated with the Client, to hide the Task for "All" Projects associated with the Client, or to select the specific Projects this Task can be used for:
If you choose to Select Projects you'll be brought to another page where you can choose the specific Projects the Task can be used:
If choosing specific Projects you will also see an option to "ignore future Projects for this Client". If this box is checked, new Projects that are added to the system for this Client will by default NOT include access to this Task.
If Task Availability is enabled, you can check which Tasks are accessible to which Clients/Projects by using the "Task Availability" report. This is accessible from the "Miscellaneous" section of the Company --> Reports page:
This report will download as an Excel file, which you can then edit and sort to make sure your settings are accurate.
Article is closed for comments.