ClickTime allows administrators to create three types of users, each with its own level of security: Standard Users, Managers and Administrators. A person's security level determines which tabs they can view and what features they have access to.
When adding a new person to your ClickTime account, you will be prompted to select a security level for the new employee. For more information on adding new people to ClickTime, please see Creating a New ClickTime User.
You can also change the security level of an existing employee by navigating to the Company --> People page and clicking the pencil edit icon next to their name.
On the Person Details page, navigate to the Security & Permissions section, and click Edit Section.
You will be prompted to choose one of three security levels: Standard, Manager or Administrator.
After configuring security permissions for the employee, always click Update to save.
A Standard user is anyone who will be keeping time. They'll have access to the Personal tab and can create timesheets, expense sheets (if your organization is utilizing the expense module), report on their own time and view their own time off balances.
Standard users cannot view other people's data or make any changes to Clients, Projects, Tasks, People or Divisions.
Managers' permission sets are highly configurable and a company can have as many uniquely configured managers as necessary. Administrators can control a manager's access to reports, permission to review timesheets and expenses, and permission to view and edit People, Client, Project and Task lists.
Managers do not have access to the Company --> Preferences page and cannot delete items from ClickTime. They should inactivate People, Clients, Projects, or Tasks that are no longer in use.
The Manager permissions on the Person Details are as follows:
Every permission (Reports, Timesheets, Expenses, Client, Project, and Task Lists) has an Access Level. By selecting All People under Review Timesheets, for example, you grant a manager permission access to timesheets for all people in the organization. By selecting People in specific divisions, you can specify which divisions the manager has access to.
You can specify which divisions the manager will have access to at the bottom of the Security and Permissions section.
By checking the box next to the corresponding Division in the Available Divisions column, and clicking the right arrow, you will add the division to the Selected Divisions column. The Divisions in the Selected Divisions column are the divisions the manager can view and/or make changes for when they have been granted access to People in specific divisions.
To revoke access to a Division, check the desired box in the Selected Divisions column, and click the left arrow. The Division name will now appear in the Available Divisions column, and the manager will not be able to view and/or make changes to that Division.
You can give managers permission to run company reports by checking the box next to "Run company reports". Managers can access all reports if this permission is selected.
If you do not grant a manager permission to "View billing rates", that manager will have access to reports like Billing Summary with Person Detail or Billing Detail by Person, but billing rates and billed amounts will not appear in the results.
Similarly, if you choose not to allow a manager to "View costs", the manager will have access to reports like Person and Task Summary with Costs, but will not see cost rate information in reports.
The Timesheets section is where you configure a manager's permissions to review and manipulate employees' timesheets.
The Review timesheets permission allows a manager to view timesheets in the Company --> Timesheets page.
Notify users about their timesheets allows managers to access the send email function from the Company --> Timesheets page. For more information, see the Timesheet Review guide.
Lock and approve timesheets allows managers to make changes to a timesheet's status. For more information on this function see the Locking Timesheets guide. If your organization is utilizing Timesheet Approvals see the Timesheet Approvals guide.
Override timesheets allows managers to override, or enter and edit time, on an employee's behalf. For more information on this function, see the Overriding Timesheets guide.
This is where you can indicate if a Manager should be the Time Off Approver for all employees or just those in certain Divisions.
If this is checked, the Manager will show up as an option in the "Time Off is approved by" section of the Person Details pages for the appropriate employees. For more details on Time Off Request and Approvals, please see the Managing Time Off Requests and Approvals guide.
Checking Review expenses gives managers access to the Company --> Expenses page. For more information on this function see the Expenses Overview.
Please be aware that if you give a Manager access to Expenses, that will mean they show as an option to approve Expenses. Managers will only be able to approve/reject Expense Sheets that belong to employees who are set to have their Expenses approved by that Manager.
Lock and approve expenses means a manager will show as an option for employee's to be their Expense Sheet Approver. Only Managers set as an Expense Sheet manager to change the status of an expense sheet by rejecting or approving the expense sheet.
Mark expenses as paid allows a manager to change the expense sheet status from approved to paid.
Override expenses allows a manager to create and edit expense sheets, and items on an employee's behalf.
Expense Types is where you set up the different types of expenses that appear on the Company --> Expenses page. By selecting View, you allow a manager to see the list of expense types, both active and inactive. Add and Edit means that a manager can add, edit and inactivate expense types.
Payment Types is where you set up the different types of payment available to users on the Company --> Expenses page. By selecting View, you allow to see the list of payment types, both active and inactive. Selecting Add and Edit allows a manager to add, edit and inactivate payment types.
People Lists controls permissions to manage the Company --> People, and Company --> Divisions pages. For more information, see the Editing People guide. More information on Divisions can be found here.
View Divisions allows managers to view the Division list on the Company --> Divisions page. Add & Edit also allows the manager to add a new Division, and mark a Division as inactive on the Division Detail page.
View People, allows managers to view the People list on the Company --> People page. Checking Add & Edit gives the manager permission to edit people, add new people, and mark users as inactive on the Person Detail page.
Employment Types controls permissions to manage the Employment Types section found by navigating to Company --> People page (as shown below).
Checking View Employment Types gives the manager permission to view the Employment Types list. Checking Add and Edit allows the manager to create Employment Types, assign employees to Employment Types, and to access and edit the Employment Type Detail page.
It should be noted that a manager will need the permission to View, Add and Edit People, to access Employment Types.
The Clients, Projects, and Tasks List options give Managers the ability to View, and Add/Edit items on the Company --> Clients, Company --> Projects, and Company --> Tasks pages. For more details, see the Create, Edit, & Manage help articles here.
Checking View Clients allows Managers to view the Client List. Checking Add and Edit gives Managers access to the Client Detail page, and the ability to add new Clients and mark Clients as inactive.
Checking View Projects and Project Insights allows Managers to view the Project List. Checking Add and Edit gives Managers access to the Project Detail page, the ability to add a new Project and mark Projects as inactive.
Checking View Tasks allows Managers to view the Task List. Checking Add and Edit gives Managers access to the Task Detail page, the ability to add a new Task, and mark existing Tasks as inactive.
Administrators can access every function of their ClickTime account, including all functions found on the Company --> Preferences and Company --> Advanced pages. More information on Advanced options can be found here.