This guide will cover how to save reports, copy new versions of reports, and deleting reports from your account.
We recommend that you regularly save your report using the blue “Save” button at the top. ClickTime will also remind you to save your work when you navigate to a new page or step in report design. You have two options for saving reports:
- “Save” will save changes to the report itself
- “Save As” will save a new copy of the report. If you choose “Save” and then choose a new category, this will also save a copy of the report in the new category
You will be able to save in both Edit and View modes.
There are multiple ways to copy a report, including the “save as” option described above.
The “Copy” option is also available in several places. From the Reports menu, you can expand the report details and use the "Copy" option:
When viewing the report, you can click "Edit" and choose to "Copy" from there.
You'll also be able to Copy using the "Version History" options, which are described below.
Each of these will prompt you to specify a name and choose a category for the new copy.
Saving a Copy is a Best Practice for Editing Shared Reports
You may choose to use the” copy” or “save as” options if you are making significant changes to a report that
- Has been shared with you
- Is already in broad use/ and or routinely delivered using the scheduled delivery feature
- You want to “turn the dials” on, so that it more closely meets your exact needs
- Other reasons, as defined by your organization’s own best practices
The ”delete” option is available from the reports menu. Expand the report details and use the “Delete” button.
You can also delete the report from version history. Deleting a report is permanent-you will no longer be able to access the report, and you cannot recover older versions of the report using version history.
If you find that you or someone else has made changes to a report, and you would like to revert to a previous version of that report, you have the option to view the report’s version history and walk back those changes. Note that this option is available to you on reports that other people have shared with you only if you have permission to edit (i.e., “Design”) the report.
To revert changes, choose "Edit" and then "View History".
This will open the full history of the report.
For the current version, you can use the pencil icon to edit the existing report:
You can also use the "Move" icon to move the current report to another Category:
Choose the new Category from the menu and then click "OK":
The "Copy" and "Delete" options will be available for the current version as well as previous versions.
The icon that looks like two squares will let you make a copy (in the same way as described above). This will allow you to edit the new version and keep the archived version:
The "X" icon will permanently delete the archived version:
This action cannot be undone, so you may want to double-check that it should be deleted before doing so. This is especially the case if someone has shared the report with you.